Great Sampford

Community Primary School

Google Services

Google Translate

Google Translate

Google Search

Google Search



At Great Sampford we teach a broad and balanced curriculum that is firmly based on the National Curriculum for England (2013) and associated programmes of study, as proposed by the Government of the day.  


Underpinning our work throughout the school is the desire to enable our children to become independent, resilient learners. Through independence, the children are given opportunities and experiences to prepare them for life. Our website should give a flavour of what happens at our school. 


Each area of learning has a 'Curriculum Map' which illustrates the 7 year journey of our children from entry in Early Years to when they leave us at the end of Year 6. Each subject has a 'Skills Ladder' and 'Knowledge Map' which demonstrates the coverage for each year group. In addition to this, the teachers skilfully plan a number of enrichment activities to bring learning alive. There are mission statements for each area of learning.

Curriculum Map



At Great Sampford we follow the accredited phonics scheme from Twinkl. This is used through EYFS and KS1 and then as interventions into KS2 to address any gaps in knowledge. To accompany this we use Rhino Readers to assist with decoding words using the phonemes taught. 

Want to find out more?


To find out more on the curriculum and experiences we offer to all of the children at Great Sampford please find lots of resources listed below. 

Please contact the school office to find out more or to discuss the curriculum in more detail with a member of our teaching team. 

Great Sampford Maths Long Term Plan

Diversity & Inclusion

What happens at Great Sampford Primary?

Still image for this video